September-My New Year

header

 

September is here everyone!

I love the Autumn. The crisp air, wagon rides, Halloween, the smell in the air is different as well. There is something about the change of season that makes me think of rebirth and renewal more than January ever did. So that is why, for me, September is when I set goals. I am also horrible for long-term goals so I do 2 to 3 months at a time. This way I am able to for instance, in December, look back and see what is working and what is not working to reach my goals as opposed to just keep going and maybe falling of the proverbial wagon. I thought I was the only one to do this but then I happened across this post on Pinterest.

I went to good old Google for a definition of “goal setting”: ‘Goal setting is a mental training technique that can be used to increase an individual’s commitment towards achieving a personal goal. Having a short or long-term goal can encourage an individual to work harder, to be more focused on the task and to overcome setbacks more easily.’

So to do my goals I wanted to make them public, because in my mind, once they are public knowledge then others know about them so I have to do them. It some how makes sense in my head. Back in April, Kara over at Boho Berry brought forth the  Action Challenge. I had so much fun doing that challenge. Because of it, we were able to get a solid plan in place to have a savings done up for a down payment for a house. This is probably the only long-term goal I have. We do tweak it though.

So these are some of my goals. If you have any suggestions on how to reach them or if you wanna give me some support just drop me an email or a comment.

FB_IMG_1471106692567

A New Me

I went to the doctor’s yesterday for a refill on some meds and spoke to him about what my ideal weight should be. I am 169 lbs now and need to be 165 lbs. I was pumped. I was thinking man this was the easiest goal yet. Then he said it is not my weight. It is how I feel. Well Jeez, thanks Doc for being all up in my head. He knows I have image and self-confidence issues. We spoke about what I liked about my body and what I didn’t. So, without boring you with all the depressing matters, at the heart of it, is my love for myself. It is just not where I want it.

This month I am doing two challenges. My September Challenge and also one that my husband and I found on Facebook. My goal is to gain more confidence in myself and to also tone my muscles more. I used to be toned and skinny when I was younger. However, I need to realize I am a mom that has not really gotten rid of the baby weight even after 4 years and I am not doing Tae Kwon Do 4 times a week.

finance-role

Finances

Another goal that I always have and probably always will is to do with finances.

Every month I set up a budget in my Bullet Journal. I love the layout of this one.  I get paid every two weeks and Iain gets paid every week so I try to balance out when to pay things so we are not left scrounging for more money at the end of the month. We are blessed that my parents allow us to live with them. The only “rent” we pay is the tv bill and we put some money into oil for them. Our plan is to shove as much money into savings and into debts as possible. It also helps that my brother used to be a banker so we always pick his brain on where to send some of our money.

So far, it’s working. Iain and I have been together for 6 years and this is the first time that we have implemented a plan that actually works. (thank you Bullet Journal) We get so much done. We see a lot of other couples that don’t pool their resources and just pay their own bills. We have always pooled ours. Back in Scotland, Iain made more money so it was kind of ridiculous to get me to pay half the rent and have no money left. So, we split up the bills and basically use one account until it is gone then move onto the next.

At the beginning of each month we sit down, (usually while I am setting up my new month in the Bullet Journal) and we discuss what needs to be paid, when and how much. This also gives us an idea of what is left over so we can plan family outings. (He is big on outings, if there’s a road, we will go there)

logo

Our Whimsical Life

I wanted to start a blog ever since I found Boho Berry. I tried and failed the first time. With encouragement from my hubby and from my brother, I began to do research in starting again. It brings me joy when someone comments or likes a post. My brother said don’t do it for fame or to get noticed, do it for yourself. I take that to heart. My blog is where I can unwind and get out what is bothering me or what is filling me with joy. I am so grateful I was able to pull it off. I am actually on top of the world knowing I have 5 followers. To some that’s not a lot, but to me, that means the world.

So there we have it, my goals. I try to stick to 3 at a time, otherwise I just get stressed and then it is a rollercoaster from there.

What are some of your goals? How do you keep track of them?

Until next time Whimsies,

Keep Smiling

Rosanna Hay

 

 

6 thoughts on “September-My New Year

    • ourwhimsicalife says:

      Sorry spazzing here knowing you read my post. You were my inspiration to start a blog. I am glad you liked it and thanks for doing all you do for those who read your blog and for the Bullet Journal community in general.

      Like

Leave a Reply

